Laughter…the cheapest medicine!

Standard

Welcome to my blog, my name is Bethan Muxworthy and I am currently studying a post-graduate diploma in Broadcast Journalism at Cardiff University. As part of the course I have been asked to write a blog on a topic of interest to my followers, not as easy as it sounds.

My only other experience of blogging was when I wrote a travel blog whilst I was on a 6 month back-packing trip. There was so much to write about and so many pictures to download that the blog was a piece of cake. The thought of writing a blog which will form part of my course assessment is a different prospect altogether.

 I scrapped quite a few ideas after realising that not even I would bother to read them. After a notepad full of scribbles I eventually came up with an idea. My blog is going to be a guide to where you can go, what you can do and how you can simply have a really good laugh in and around Cardiff.

My inspiration was the fact that many people ask me ‘How do you stay so cheerful,’ and my answer is ‘Luckily, I just am.’ I confess however, that even I need help to laugh sometimes especially when I’m feeling stressed, like when I tried to come up with this blog idea.

Ella Wheeler Wilcox wrote in her poem ‘Solitude,’ ‘Laugh and the world laughs with you, weep and you weep alone,’ this is so true. What I hope to do in my blog will be to let you know what is going on around and about in Cardiff guaranteed to ‘tickle your fancy!’

Cardiff is renowned for hosting such diverse events as Rugby Internationals and The Great British Cheese Festival. I want to find out if Cardiff warrants the title ‘Capital of comedy.’ There seems to be an array of comedy venues and by doing some research I hope to point you in the direction of events most likely to make you laugh your socks off. As well as the obvious comedy outlets I will be suggesting activities, books, films, magazine/news articles, online sources etc, all containing the ‘laughter factor.’

I hope you will find my blog informative as if laughter is indeed the cheapest medicine my blog will be telling you where to go and what to do to get a healthy dose!

2 responses »

  1. Good blog. Well done Beth. Good to see you doing something that you enjoy. You done a really good job. Keep it up. James Williams x

Leave a Reply

