The Artist

Standard

I would firstly like to apologise for my lack of blogging this month, however I have had a valid excuse. I started back on the 9th of January and was revising solidly for an exam in ‘Public Admin.’ I also had other deadlines to be met and tried to avoid the internet as I get easily distracted. Fear not, I am back and will be making an effort to bring cheer to you all!

As a little treat for myself I’ve been going to the cinema with friends for a little escapism. With  the Oscar nominations there was one film that picked up the most nods, one which  I didn’t think would be my cup of tea but I was wrong! After much persuasion from my best friend I decided to go to see ‘The Artist’ last night. The thought of watching a silent movie did not appeal to me in the slightest but ten minutes in and I was hooked.

The main actor, Jean Dujardi and his hilarious little dog were central to the comedy of the film and his cheeky and charming mannerisms made him a likeable character from the start. Bérénice Bejo, the lead actress and her love towards Jean Dujardi  was a beautiful love story and again was a great source of humour. The silence of the film didn’t seem to matter as the narrative was so easy to follow and the pathos worked really well.

I won’t go into too much detail but for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet, it truly is an  incredible film and worthy of all its nominations in the Oscars. It’s also one which will definitely put a smile on your face.

Leave a Reply

